How to Get Your Roofing & Exteriors Work Recognized

You work hard on every roofing and exteriors job your company completes, and you deserve recognition for such dedication to craftsmanship and excellence. Check out these three industry programs now accepting nominations—and act fast to get your submissions in before the deadline!

Kaitlin N. Schuler, Editor

July 6, 2022

4 Min Read
Awards and recognition for roofing and exteriors pros lead image with NAHB, Roofing Alliance and ABC logos
Informa Markets

Contracting companies that emphasize excellence, dedication and impeccable business practices have a leg up on their competitors when it comes to the longevity of their businesses. Your customers know your work is incredible, and it's time to turn that strong local reputation into well-earned awards and recognition.

Here are three awards and recognition programs now accepting nominations:


Roofing Alliance Most Valuable Player Awards

NRCA Roofing Alliance roofing association logo in blue, gray, orange and green

What is it? The Roofing Alliance’s Most Valuable Player Awards program (RA's MVP Awards) celebrates workers who are "outstanding employees within their companies that others aspire to" and recognizes them for performance outside the workplace as well, such as charitable deeds, community involvement, challenges overcome and commitment to helping others, according to RA. 

Employers can nominate employees for an award in one or both of the following categories:

  • Outstanding Performance and Leadership

  • Outstanding Community Involvement

Who can apply? RA's MVP Awards recognize field and warehouse workers only who typically may not be publicly acknowledged for their efforts or eligible to participate in recognition or incentive programs within their companies. Self-nominations are not permitted, and candidates must be employed by a Roofing Alliance member or NRCA member. The levels and job titles eligible for nomination are as follows:

  • Roofing contracting firms: Any field roofing worker, foreman or superintendent is eligible. The number of nominations per firm must not exceed three per company branch.

  • Distributor and manufacturer firms: Any warehouse employee, warehouse foreman, driver or equipment operator is eligible. The number of nominations must not exceed five per national firm.

When is the deadline? Nominations must be submitted using this form by Sept. 30, 2022. Awardees will be notified the week of Dec. 5, 2022, and will be formally honored at the NRCA Industry Awards Ceremony and Cocktail Reception on March 8, 2023, in Dallas. Along with a variety of other perks, winners will receive from RA two complimentary SuperPass registrations to the 2023 International Roofing Expo. Please contact Jessica Priske, director of RA, with any questions.

NAHB National Housing Center Awards


What is it? The National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) is seeking nominations for two of the association's highest honors:

  1. National Housing Hall of Fame membership

  2. The Exemplary Service in Home Building award

NAHB established the National Housing Hall of Fame in 1976 to recognize individuals whose "spirit, ingenuity and determination have changed the face of housing for the better," according to the association's site. The 2020 inductees were the Honorable John Isakson, former U.S. senator for Georgia, and NAHB past chairmen Rick Judson, Kevin Kelly and Barry Rutenberg.

The Exemplary Service in Home Building award recognizes individuals for "outstanding and commendable accomplishments in service to the housing industry." The 2020 recipients were S. Robert August, of Denver; the late Edward H. Fickett, FAIA, of Los Angeles; and the late Philip M. Polivchak, of Washington, D.C.

Both honors are bestowed only every three years during the Spring Leadership Meeting. Candidates for both honors will be selected from three categories: Builder/Developer, Government and Housing-Related Field. Nominees may be living or deceased, according to NAHB, but must be citizens of the U.S.

Who can apply? Nominations for the 2023 Induction Ceremony may be submitted by an NAHB member or local home builder association. The general criteria for both Hall of Fame membership and award eligibility can be found on NAHB's site.

When is the deadline? Nominations must be submitted by Oct. 7, 2022. Please contact NAHB's Cyndi McKinley with any questions or to obtain a nomination form. 

ABC National Excellence in Construction Awards

ABC association logo in red and blue

What is it? The Excellence in Construction Awards celebration honors the nation's "most innovative and high-quality construction projects and world-class safety, inclusion, diversity and equity programs," according to Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC), the host of the awards. Winners will be recognized at the 33rd Annual National Excellence in Construction Awards Gala on March 16, 2023, in Florida.

Who can apply? Only ABC contractor members are eligible to enter. Projects completed through a joint venture must include a document outlining the ownership percentage and responsibilities of each partner. If the majority partner is an ABC member but not all partners are ABC members, only the majority contractor is eligible to enter. 

A company that experiences a safety-related fatality of a direct employee in the United States within the current program year (Oct. 16, 2021–Oct. 15, 2022) is not eligible for an Excellence in Construction award. 

When is the deadline? Nominations must be submitted by Nov. 18, 2022. Construction of submitted projects must be completed by Oct. 15, 2022, and all applicants will receive an email detailing the results during the week of Dec. 19, 2022. Contact ABC directly for questions regarding the application, eligibility or awards gala.

About the Author(s)

Kaitlin N. Schuler

Editor, Infrastructure & Construction, Informa Markets

Kaitlin Schuler has nearly a decade of experience as an editor and journalist. Prior to joining Informa, Schuler served as special projects editor for Professional Remodeler magazine and, previously, editor for the American Nuclear Society. She earned a master's in journalism from the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University, and a bachelor's in English from the University of Michigan. She now resides in southwest Michigan with her husband and two cats.

Subscribe to get the latest information on products, technologies and management.
Join our growing community and stay informed with our free newsletters.

You May Also Like