Sponsored By

PHTA Opens Awards of ExcellencePHTA Opens Awards of Excellence

Here's a handy FAQ about the industry recognition program, including categories, costs and timelines.

March 24, 2022

3 Min Read
PHTA Opens Awards of Excellence

What are the Awards of Excellence?

The PHTA Awards of Excellence recognizes and rewards installations of pools, spas, hot tubs, and water features that showcase the most beautiful and creative work in the industry. Hundreds of entries are submitted each year, representing member firms across the United States and around the world.

Who can enter the Awards of Excellence Program?

Current membership in the Pool & Hot Tub Alliance is required for submissions.

The competition is open to pool, spa, or hot-tub builders and installers, designers, retailers, or service companies that receive payment for the installation being submitted. A manufacturer or distributor may submit entries on behalf of PHTA member builders, installers, and designers however the recognition will go to the firm that received payment for the installation.

How are the installations judged?

Each entry is judged on 8 criteria that are each worth 10 points - for a total of 80 possible points. The criteria is as follows: 

Conformance with applicable ANSI/APSP standards or any other mandatory code of government?
Adherence to Awards of Excellence requirements - No logo, No cleaning equipment, No people, No drinks etc.                                                           
Workmanship - Quality of Craftsmanship - does the installation appear to have been done in a quality manner?                                                           
How well do the materials used on the project complement the home or surroundings?
Overall Beauty - Aesthetic appeal of the entire installation?                                                           
Design Creativity - (soundness of design) uniqueness of shape, deck, water features, etc. and how they blend together.                                                           
Project Cohesiveness - blending of the entire project with the landscape and surroundings. How well does the pool or spa feel like it belongs in the setting. Does it look like it's part of the house?                                                           
Unique qualities outside of usual judging consideration - please rate the uniqueness of the installation - amenities to enhance the harmony created. The WOW factor.  
Awards are presented include the following: Gold, Silver, and Bronze.

The judging panel is comprised of industry professionals, as well as representatives from related fields including architecture and landscape design.

Judges do NOT know the names of entrants as all entries are identified by number only.

What is the cost?

The entry fee is $249 per submission.

What is required for each entry?

The entry form requires the submission of three high-resolution digital photos of the installation.

What are the rules for the photos?

No enhancement is allowed and photos cannot be commercial images from another source. Photo must be no more than five years old.

How are the winners’ projects promoted?

The winners are honored and presented at the annual PHTA Awards of Excellence reception held at during the International Pool | Spa | Patio Expo in November of every year.

The International Awards of Excellence winners are listed on the PHTA website and a press release is sent to industry media. PHTA promotes award-winning projects and photos on its website, blog, social media, industry trade publications and via press releases. A marketing toolkit is provided to include customizable press releases, logos, and social media posts to help market award winning work and earn invaluable press coverage.

Subscribe to get the latest information on products, technologies and management.
Join our growing community and stay informed with our free newsletters.